top of page

Last 6 Weeks ??

We are on the last 6 weeks now. The packing has started here at latour street , our exit date is the last week of August .

The tiles arrived this week and Rohan and the boys have been busy .

I put a bath in, took the bath out so many times on the plan , and eventually decided on 2 walk in roomy shower recesses.

The harsh water of australind with its high content of calcium has been a factor in my choice of colours .

The bathroom cabinets have plenty of storage and the ensuite vanity mirror has been made to order and I love it . The vanity is made with cupboard either side of a large mirror . The slim cupboards both have adjustable shelves and a power point ( electric toothbrush ) , it also has a feature shelf for display .

The bathroom also has a shelf above the sink and a round brass mirror which I found in a furniture store in Busselton, only to see the same thing in Kmart the following week..... And I'm sure you can guess at quiet a different price.....

I decided on Wall paper look tiles & was thankful for the advice from our building supervisor Rhys ,who cautioned me on the depth of design and trying to fix mixers / tapes flush on the tiles , so I used them only on a side wall with no tapware

The laundry is in and I'm happy with the amount of storage . We are coming from 4 bedrooms down to 3 and our loves ( adult children ) have moved to the east with a bag and a couple of boxes of gear , leaving all other possessions to be stored..

The walk in linen we have shelved with a large s gap at the bottom to allow our standup suitcases, and have added tall storage for the ironing board , broom, Eno mops and other hard to store items .

We have added a laundry draw and 3 other draws which will have baskets for separating the washing .

( training will be required ) We also added shelving above the sink and I do plan to have hanging rod for drying . I will be off to freedom to find some baskets to fit the open shelving .

The kitchen went in this week, I'm hesitant to give my opinion on it yet .

The wood grain on the back of the island bench has me concerned , I wanted to add some fresh light tone wood grain into the whole house to make it flow from bottom to top, however my choice of linen stone bench tops might not make the colours all marry in to each other . Of course I won't be changing the bench tops, due to possible divorce , but the hubby / electrician has given the ok to change the backing of the island bench if I'm still concerned when the jarrah floors go down ..

The study bookcase also was partially installed this week, im pleased with how that has come together. The study being open we need some storage space for files and paperwork that could be hidden from view.

The bottom cupboards are tall enough to have 16 A4 files standing and the unit has a filing draw in between to stay organised .

The bookcase will catch beautiful sunlight has some fixed shelving and some adjustable , I have a vision of a few potted plants cascading down the bookcase from the top . Hmmmm mind is busy .

Next big job is paint & Blinds

Sent from Leah,s Ipad


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page